clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The Seattle Storm are WNBA champs! Celebrate with all new t-shirts and merch!

The Seattle Storm earned their franchise-fourth WNBA championship with an undefeated 2020 WNBA Playoffs run.

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

Celebrate the Seattle Storm’s undefeated run in the 2020 WNBA Finals.

With an 18-4 regular-season record and an undefeated run through the 2020 WNBA Playoffs, the Seattle Storm were exemplars of efficiency. A stellar starting five — the crafty backcourt duo of future Hall of Famer Sue Bird and “Gold Mamba” Jewell Loyd , plus a frontcourt trio of forwards Breanna Stewart, Natasha Howard and Alysha Clark — demoralized opponents on both ends of the floor.

Except for their first game in the postseason — Game 1 in the semifinals versus the Minnesota Lynx — the Storm clobbered the competition by double-digit scoring.

In the closeout Game 3 of the Finals, Seattle defeated the shorthanded Las Vegas Aces by a margin of 33 points in spite of the effort and energy of league MVP A’ja Wilson.

That type of dominance doesn’t happen by accident, but design, though a little good fortune gave them a leg up on the depleted competition. Still, the agile and active frontcourt players powered interim head coach Gary Kloppenburg’s “aggressive and disruptive defensive scheme” in a way that stripped the gears of opposing offenses and led to fast-break buckets on the other end. The “unselfish, patient” offense was well-oiled, if not machinated, creating mismatches that collapsed defenses.

Simply put, the Storm were better than all the rest, resulting in a a franchise-fourth WNBA championship.