clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Curt Miller is the 2021 WNBA Coach of the Year

Curt Miller led the Connecticut Sun to an incredible regular season.

Connecticut Sun v Dallas Wings
Curt Miller
Photo by Cooper Neill/NBAE via Getty Images

Curt Miller is the 2021 Coach of the Year, the WNBA announced Tuesday. Miller leads the No. 1 seed Connecticut Sun, who begin their playoff run Tuesday night at 8 p.m. when they host the Chicago Sky in Game 1 of the semifinals.

It was an eventful day of awards for the Sun, with star forwards Jonquel Jones and Brionna Jones winning MVP and MIP, respectively. In addition, J. Jones and Sun guard Briann January were voted to this year’s All-Defensive First Team while B. Jones and Sun guard Jasmine Thomas made the All-Defensive Second Team. If Alyssa Thomas had been healthy for the entire season, the Sun may have had five players receiving defensive honors, enough to fill a starting lineup. Clearly the players deserve a lot of credit for Connecticut’s success, but Miller has been at the center of all of it and led them to success without A. Thomas.

The Sun went 26-6 in the regular season and 3-0 against the preseason favorite Las Vegas Aces, who finished second at 24-8.