clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jackson, Griffith, Ackerman, Moore inducted into Hall of Fame

WNBA legends Lauren Jackson and Yolanda Griffith, the league’s inaugural president, Val Ackerman, and 4,000-college-point scorer Pearl Moore were honored at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Washington Mystics v Seattle Storm
Lauren Jackson’s number hanging from Key Arena in Seattle.
Photo by Joshua Huston/NBAE via Getty Images

Lauren Jackson, Yolanda Griffith, Val Ackerman and Pearl Moore were inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass. on Saturday, along with NBA greats Paul Pierce, Chris Bosh, Chris Webber and Ben Wallace.

Jackson played her entire 12-year WNBA career with the Seattle Storm and is considered by some to be one of the two best players in the league’s history, along with Diana Taurasi, who currently plays for the Phoenix Mercury. Jackson is sixth all-time in points per game (18.9), is a three-time MVP, seven-time All-Star and two-time champion (2004 and 2010).

Griffith played nine seasons with the Sacramento Monarchs, winning a WNBA championship in 2005. Griffith also played for the Seattle Storm and Indiana Fever. She is ninth all-time in rebounds per game (7.9), won the MVP award in 1999 and is a seven-time All-Star.

Ackerman was the WNBA’s president from its inception through 2005, was the USA Basketball president from 2005 to 2008 and now serves as the commissioner of the Big East conference of NCAA Division I.

Moore played at Francis Marion College from 1975 to 1979 and scored 4,061 career points, a women’s college basketball record. She averaged 32 per game.