clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-time starters of the NCAAW 2020-21 season’s Top 5 teams

From No. 1 South Carolina Gamecocks to No. 5 Connecticut Huskies, Swish Appeal presents the all-time starting lineups for the NCAAW 2020-21 season’s top-five schools.

Mississippi v Baylor
Odyssey Sims was as key to the Baylor Lady Bears’ 2012 NCAA Women’s Tournament Championship as teammate Brittney Griner and head coach Kim Mulkey.
Photo by Cooper Neill/Getty Images

The 2020-21 NCAAW season is set to kick off Nov. 25 but uncertainty over soaring rates of coronavirus infection nationwide has altered how most teams will play their seasons. With some teams and conferences already announcing the cancellation of their seasons, there is no guarantee the show will go on. Yet, as the scheduled tipoff nears, fans are keeping an eye to the future of women’s basketball. At Swish Appeal, we also are honoring the great players of the past for the top-five teams entering the 2020-21 NCAAW season: No. 5 Connecticut Huskies, No. 4 Maryland Terrapins, No. 3 Baylor Lady Bears, No. 2 Oregon Ducks and No. 1 South Carolina Gamecocks.

With hopes that the likes of Christyn Williams (Connecticut), Ashley Owusu (Maryland), NyLyssa Smith (Baylor), Erin Boley (Oregon) and Aliyah Boston (South Carolina) can continue to build collegiate legacies in the 2020-21 season, here’s a look at the all-time stars at their respective programs who came before.

No. 1 South Carolina Gamecocks

South Carolina v Maryland
A’ja Wilson led the South Carolina Gamecocks to the NCAAW national title in 2017. In 2020, she was voted the WNBA’s Most Valuable Player.
Photo by G Fiume/Maryland Terrapins/Getty Images

South Carolina Gamecocks all-time starters:

PG: Shannon Johnson

SG: Martha Parker-Hester

PF: A’ja Wilson

SF: Tiffany Mitchell

C: Alaina Coates

No. 2 Oregon Ducks

Stanford v Oregon
Sabrina Ionescu led the Oregon Ducks to the Final Four in 2018-19 after setting NCAA records that no man or woman has touched.
Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

Oregon Ducks all-time starters:

PG: Lauri Landerholm

SG: Sabrina Ionescu

PF: Bev Smith

SF: Jillian Alleyne

C: Alison Lang

No. 3 Baylor Lady Bears

Oral Roberts v Baylor
Brittney Griner was a draw during her four years at Baylor, racking up individual awards galore along with a national title.
Photo by Cooper Neill/Getty Images

Baylor Lady Bears all-time starters:

PG: Odyssey Sims

SG: Alexis Jones

PF: Lauren Cox

SF: Sophia Young

C: Brittney Griner

No. 4 Maryland Terrapins

NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament - Final Four - Semifinals
In the pros, Alyssa Thomas intensified the gritty game she showed at Maryland, leading the Connecticut Sun to the WNBA Finals and semifinals in 2020 and 2019, respectively.
Photo by Frederick Breedon/Getty Images

Maryland Terrapins all-time starters:

PG: Kristi Toliver

SG: Marissa Coleman

PF: Vicky Bullett

SF: Alyssa Thomas

C: Crystal Langhorne

No. 5 Connecticut Huskies

Diana Taurasi reacts
A collegiate career at Connecticut under head coach Geno Auriemma helped shape Diana Taurasi into the WNBA all-time leading scorer she would become.
Getty Images

Connecticut Huskies all-time starters:

PG: Sue Bird

SG: Diana Taurasi

PF: Breanna Stewart

SF: Maya Moore

C: Tina Charles