clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2014 All-WNBA First and Second Teams: MVP Maya Moore, Minnesota Lynx headline selections

The Minnesota Lynx led the 2014 All-WNBA selections with three players honored, headlined by 2014 WNBA MVP Maya Moore.

Christian Petersen

The WNBA has announced its 2014 All-WNBA First and Second Teams today with every player except Candace Parker on display in today's USA Basketball Showcase.

2014 WNBA MVP Maya Moore was the only unanimous first team selection, which is only surprising because Phoenix Mercury star Diana Taurasi wasn't unanimous as well. The rest of the First Team pretty much filled out predictably. even if there's room for debate there as well.

However, the second team might trigger some debate.







First Team

Diana Taurasi (171)

Skylar Diggins (140)

Maya Moore (180)

Candace Parker (116)

Brittney Griner (170)

Second Team

Lindsay Whalen (116)

Seimone Augustus (27) & Danielle Robinson (27)

Angel McCoughtry (90)

Nneka Ogwumike (45)

Tina Charles (88)

The 2014 All-WNBA First and Second Teams.

The most disappointing omission compared to our staff picks is the absence of Candice Dupree, who was one of the best mid-range shooters in the league at her position to complement Brittney Griner inside on the winningest team in league history. Erika de Souza and 2014 Rookie of the Year Chiney Ogwumike are also players who might have a gripe, but that raises a question in the frontcourt: who do you leave out?

As for surprises, I love Seimone Augustus as much as anyone, but it's a bit surprising to see her make the team in light of only playing 24 games this season. Her tie with Danielle Robinson marks the first time since 2000 that there has been a tie on the All-WNBA team since 2000, according to Basketball-Reference.

Voting for the All-WNBA First and Second Teams was conducted by a panel of 38 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season. Players were selected by position and received five points for each First Team vote and three points for each Second Team designation.

For more of our thoughts on the awards, check out our awards picks.