clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sylvia Fowles wins 2013 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year

Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles headlines the 2013 WNBA All-Defensive team as the 2013 WNBA Defensive Player of the Year.

Rob Grabowski-US PRESSWIRE

The WNBA announced today that Chicago Sky center Sylvia Fowles has won her second Defensive Player of the Year award in three seasons with 21 votes from a panel of 39 media members.

From the Sky release:

Throughout 2013, Fowles hit historic marks on both the franchise and league fronts. Fowles finished the season with the fourth best rebound per game ranking in league history. She also is tied for third all-time in career double-double performances (81).

WNBA president Laurel Richie was in Chicago today to personally announce the award. The game will feature a pair of first-teamers and the DPoY award winners for the past five seasons in Catchings (2009, '10, & 12) and Fowles (2011 & '13).

Fowles was joined on the 2013 All-Defensive First Team by fellow MVP candidates Catchings and Angel McCoughtry, who earned six first team votes along with teammate Armintie Herrington.

First Team Team Position
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky C
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever F
Angel McCoughtry
Atlanta Dream
Armintie Herrington
Atlanta Dream G/F
Tanisha Wright
Seattle Storm G
Second Team Team Position
Erika de Souza Atlanta Dream C
Glory Johnson Tulsa Shock F
Rebekkah Brunson Minnesota Lynx F
Jia Perkins San Antonio Silver Stars G
Danielle Robinson San Antonio Silver Stars G
Briann January Indiana Fever G

More on the voting process from the Seattle Storm:

A panel of the WNBA's 12 head coaches voted on the WNBA All-Defensive Team, selecting First and Second Teams by position. Coaches were not permitted to vote for players from their own team.  Players earned five points for each First Team vote and three points for a Second Team vote.