clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Top women in college basketball honored by media and coaches

Megan Gustafson and Sabrina Ionescu swept the three Player of the Year awards, while Iowa’s Lisa Bluder and Baylor’s Kim Mulkey were honored as top coaches.

NCAA Womens Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Greensboro Regional - NC State vs Iowa
Iowa center Megan Gustafson and head coach Lisa Bluder picked up 2019 Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards this week.
Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

Over the course of the last week, the best players in college basketball collected more yearly hardware. The debate over the best player on the women’s side has been heated, as Iowa’s Megan Gustafson and Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu have been honored by different organizations.

On Saturday, Gustafson became the first Iowa Hawkeye to win the Naismith Trophy, while Ionescu picked up Oregon’s first Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) Wade Trophy on Thursday.

The players and coaches are recognized annually by many organizations. AP, WBCA and Naismith award winners are below:


AP All-America Teams

WBCA All-America Teams

Naismith Player of the Year

Megan Gustafson, Iowa

Naismith Coach of the Year

Lisa Bluder, Iowa

AP Player of the Year

Megan Gustafson, Iowa

AP Coach of the Year

Kim Mulkey, Baylor

WBCA Player of the Year

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

WBCA Coach of the Year

Kim Mulkey, Baylor

WBCA Rookie Coach of the Year

Carlos Funchess, Southern University

WBCA Defensive Player of the Year

Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

WBCA Freshman of the Year

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky

Naismith Starting Five:

Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard)

Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon

Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard)

Asia Durr, Louisville

Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward)

Bridget Carleton, Iowa State

Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward)

Napheesa Collier, Connecticut

Lisa Leslie Award (Center)

Megan Gustafson, Iowa