clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Griner, Ogwumike headline WNBA All-Star reserves

Voted by the WNBA’s head coaches, Nneka Ogwumike and Breanna Stewart highlight the reserves selected for the Verizon WNBA All-Star 2017. A total of nine first-time All-Stars and nine former No. 1 overall draft picks will face off in this year’s game set for July 22.

Icon Sportswire - Getty Images

Los Angeles Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike, first-time All-Star selection Breanna Stewart of the Seattle Storm and the WNBA’s leading scorer Brittney Griner of the Phoenix Mercury were picked as reserves for the Verizon WNBA All-Star 2017, the league announced today.

A total of nine players – seven from the Eastern Conference and two from the Western Conference – will make their All-Star debut on Saturday, July 22 at KeyArena in Seattle. Tip-off is set for 3:30 p.m. ET on ABC.

Ogwumike and Griner were voted to the West frontcourt with Stewart. The three will be joined by Seimone Augustus of the Minnesota Lynx, Skylar Diggins-Smith of the Dallas Wings and Chelsea Gray of the Sparks.

The East reserves are highlighted by Indiana’s Candice Dupree, who joins Cappie Pondexter and Tina Thompson as the only players in WNBA history to be selected as an All-Star with three different teams. Chicago Sky’s two-time All-Star Stefanie Dolson will join Dupree in the East frontcourt.

The Eastern Conference’s four other reserves are all All-Star selections for the first time: Alyssa Thomas of the Connecticut Sun, Elizabeth Williams and Layshia Clarendon of the Atlanta Dream and Allie Quigley of the Sky. In the starting lineup for the East will be Atlanta’s Tiffany Hayes and Connecticut’s Jonquel Jones and Jasmine Thomas.

Eight former No. 1 overall picks will lace up for the West: Sue Bird, Diana Taurasi, Augustus, Candace Parker, Maya Moore, Ogwumike, Griner and Stewart. Tina Charles is also a former No. 1 overall pick representing the East.

Replacement players, who will fill in for All-Stars unable to play, will be named by WNBA President Lisa Borders. That announcement will be made Wednesday, July 19 (time TBD).

Replacement starters will be named to fill in for any players voted to Verizon WNBA All-Star 2017 as starters but who are unable to play due to injury. They will be determined by the head coach of the respective conference All-Star team. That announcement will take place on Friday, July 21 around the time of media availability at All-Star 5:45 p.m. ET (subject to change).