clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2017 ESPYS Preview: WNBA well represented at awards show

Former Colts quarterback Peyton Manning will host this star-studded event, airing at 8 p.m. ET.

Los Angeles, CA — It’s that time of year again. The 2017 ESPY Awards are officially here! Stars will be exchanging uniforms and jerseys for suits and ball gowns as they head out to the star-studded event at the Microsoft Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. The ESPY’s recognize the greatest competitors from football, baseball, basketball and many other sports.

Los Angeles Sparks’ Candace Parker is up for an award for “Best Female Athlete” and “Best Comeback Athlete.” Diana Taurasi’s performance on the court earned her a nomination for “Best Record-Breaking Performance” for breaking the WNBA scoring record.

In the category “Best WNBA Player”, Tina Charles (New York Liberty), Elena Delle Donne (Washington Mystics), Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx), Nneka Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks), and Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks), will all be competing for the title.

As for women’s college basketball, Mississippi State defeating Connecticut in the Final Four is nominated for “Best Upset”, and the South Carolina Gamecocks are up for “Best Team.”

The Lady Bulldogs’ Morgan William is also up for an award, “Best Play” after hitting the game-winner to shock the Huskies.

Former Washington Husky, Kelsey Plum, who went first overall in the WNBA draft to the San Antonio Stars is competing for the accolade “Best Female College Athlete.”

University of Kansas former point guard Frank Mason, who now plays for the Sacramento Kings, is up for the award for “Best Male Athlete.”

You can catch the earliest official coverage of the ESPY Awards, called “2017 ESPYS Red Carpet Live,” at 5 p.m. Eastern Time on ESPN.

NFL legend Peyton Manning will be the man of the night. The former quarterback will host the award’s ceremony. Other big-time athletes slated to be in attendance and walking the red carpet include Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, Odell Beckham Jr., Nneka Ogwumike, Candace Parker, Simone Biles, and Shaun White.

Don’t forget to catch the 2017 ESPY Awards on ABC at 8 p.m. ET.