clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sheryl Swoopes highlights 2017 Women’s Hall of Fame class

Today, the six members of the Class of 2017 Hall of Fame were announced.

Basketball: Hall of Fame Enshrinement David Butler II-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier today, the Class of 2017 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame announced the six new members to this prestigious honor. Those individuals, with amazing achievements from their career, are:

Sheryl Swoopes (player): Three-time Olympic gold medalist and led the Houston Comets to four straight WNBA Championship titles.

Kara Wolters (player): A 2000 Olympic gold medalist and the 1997 AP National College Player of the Year.

Sally Bell (official): Had a 33-year tenure as a women's basketball official and won the 1991 Naismith Women's Basketball Official of the Year.

Christine Grant (contributor): Is a founding member of Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) and was the Director of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women at University of Iowa and consultant for the Civil Rights Title IX Task Force for 27 years.

Rick Insell (coach): Led Shelbyville Central High School (Shelbyville, TN) to 10 state championships, two USA Today national championships and has more than 1,000 wins at Shelbyville H.S and Middle Tennessee State University.

Louise O'Neal (veteran): Was a recipient of 2004 WBCA Jostens-Berenson Lifetime Achievement Award and 2011 NACWAA Lifetime Achievement Award and served on numerous national leadership positions such as the Women's Basketball Rules Committee, and NACDA Executive Board.

Each member will be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame on June 10, 2017, in Knoxville, Tennessee where they will each receive an Eastman Trophy and Baron Championship Induction Ring.

During that special ceremony, the Delta State women’s basketball teams of 1975, 1976 and 1977 will also be acknowledged for their contributions to the women’s game. They will be recognized as the “Trailblazers of the Game.” They will be joined by seven other and organizations who also will be celebrated as “Trailblazers of the Game.”

Three consecutive AIAW National Championships were won during those years with an overall record of 93-4 by the Delta state teams.