clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WNBA admits refs missed critical no-call in Sparks-Lynx Game 5

For the second straight game in the WNBA Finals, the league has announced there was a shot at a critical time in the game that should not have counted.

WNBA: Los Angeles Sparks at Minnesota Lynx Brad Rempel-USA TODAY Sports

Last night, the Los Angeles Sparks won the WNBA title, however it did not come without controversy. With under two minutes left in the game, Sparks' forward Nneka Ogwumike made a shot at the end of the shot clock to put Los Angeles up one-point, however today, the league and Renee Brown admitted her shot should not have counted, as the ball was still in her hand with zero time on the shot clock.

"After reviewing postgame video, we have determined that Nneka Ogwumike’s shot with 1:14 remaining in regulation time should not have counted due to a shot-clock violation, and that the referees improperly failed to review the play under the instant replay rules," said Brown this morning.”