clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

WNBA admits late blown call in Game 4

New, 8 comments

The WNBA has announced that a backcourt violation on the Minnesota Lynx should’ve been called late in Game 4.

WNBA: Minnesota Lynx at Los Angeles Sparks Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Sports

The WNBA has just announced that the referees did miss an 8-second backcourt violation on the Minnesota Lynx, which would’ve given the ball to the Los Angeles Sparks only down one possession.

Here’s the statement:

Renee Brown, WNBA Chief of Basketball Operations and Player Relations, issued the following statement today regarding a play in the final minute of the fourth quarter of the Minnesota Lynx’s 85-79 win over the Los Angeles Sparks on Sunday at Staples Center.

“After reviewing postgame video, we have determined that with 0:17.7 remaining in regulation time, Minnesota released the ball for a pass from the backcourt and the ball was still in the backcourt when the shot clock turned to 0:16. An 8-second violation should have been called on Minnesota. This play is not a trigger to review via instant replay.”