clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WNBA announces the 12 players to attend the Draft

The WNBA has annouced the 12 players invited to attend the 2015 WNBA Draft. Prospects such as Jewell Loyd (Notre Dame), Amanda Zahui B. (Minnesota) and Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis (UConn) are players headlining this event.

John David Mercer-USA TODAY Sports

Today, it was announced, the 12 esteemed players that have been invited to attend the 2015 WNBA Draft Presented by State Farm. Among the players that will be in attendance are early-draft entries, Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, UConn's Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Minnesota's Amanda Zahui B.

Here's part of the press release:

Jewell Loyd of Notre Dame, espnW’s National Player of the Year, and Connecticut’s Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, who helped the Huskies win three consecutive national titles, headline a list of 12 prospects who will attend the WNBA Draft 2015 presented by State Farm on Thursday, April 16, at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. ESPN2 will televise the first round beginning at 7 p.m. ET, and ESPN3 will air the second and third rounds starting at 8 p.m. ET.

Loyd, a consensus All-America First Team selection and the ACC Player of the Year, led the Fighting Irish to the national championship game against Mosqueda-Lewis and Connecticut the past two years. Mosqueda-Lewis, the NCAA’s all-time leader in three-pointers (398) and a three-time All-America honoree, led the nation in three-point field goal percentage this season (48.8).

Rounding out the list of players are guards Brittany Boyd (California), Brittany Hrynko (DePaul), and Samantha Logic (Iowa); forwards Reshanda Gray (California), Dearica Hamby (Wake Forest), and Aleighsa Welch (South Carolina); and centers Isabelle Harrison (Tennessee), Kiah Stokes (Connecticut), Elizabeth Williams (Duke), and Amanda Zahui B. (Minnesota).

The WNBA  Draft will be held Thursday at 7 p.m. EST and will air live on ESPN2.