clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Elena Delle Donne unanimous All-WNBA 1st team selection

The WNBA announced their First and Second Team selections today. Current and former league MVPs headlined the First Team, while some younger players made the Second Team for the first time in their careers.

Gary Dineen NBAE

With the WNBA Finals underway and set to resume tomorrow night, the League announced their first and second team selections today.

Chicago Sky forward Elena Delle Donne, the league's 2015 Most Valuable Player, was the only unanimous pick for the All-WNBA First Team. Delle Donne led the league in scoring (23.4 ppg) and shot a WNBA-best 95 percent from the free throw line. This was her first year on the First Team.

Two former WNBA MVPs joined Delle Donne on this year's First Team. Last year's MVP, Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore was named to the First Team for the third straight year, while New York Liberty center Tina Charles made the First Team for the sixth consecutive season. Charles was the league MVP in 2012.

The First Team backcourt features guards DeWanna Bonner of the Phoenix Mercury, and Angel McCoughtry of the Atlanta Dream. McCoughtry is the only player to be named to the First Team and WNBA All-Defensive Team this season.

Bonner's teammate on the Mercury, center Brittney Griner, headlines the All-WNBA Second Team. Griner is joined in the frontcourt by Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings.

Rounding out the Second Team is Sky guard Courtney Vandersloot and Liberty guard Epiphany Prince.