clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maya Moore makes case for MDP (Most Dominant Player)

After winning her third WNBA championship in five years, is it possible that Maya Moore the "Most Dominant Player" in women's basketball today?

Hannah Foslien/Getty Images

Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore is a woman of many descriptions.

She is beautiful, she is athletic, and she is also a champion. But one thing you may not look at her most dominant.

That is, until you look at her career numbers and see that she is among the best there is in history.

Here are some statistics that immediately catch the eye:

MAYA MOORE (2011-2015)

3-time WNBA Champion (2011, 2013, 2015)

2011 WNBA Rookie of the Year

2013 WNBA Finals MVP


4-time WNBA All-Star (2011, 2013, 2014, 2015)

No player in any of the four major sports leagues (MLB, NBA, NFL, NHL) has ever accomplished this feat, or come close to establishing such dominance in their respective sport. Add her 2012 Olympic gold medal and you could make a case for the most dominant player in any league of all time. But we're going to stick to the WNBA here.

Think of some of the WNBA greats. Diana Taurasi, Lisa Leslie, Tina Thompson, or Candace Parker are usually at the top of many people's lists. So let's take a look at their individual accomplishments.


3-time WNBA Champion (2007, 2013, 2014)

3-time Olympic gold medalist (2004, 2008, 2012)

2009 WNBA MVP and Finals MVP

5-time WNBA All-Star (2005-07, 2009, 2011)

7-time WNBA First Team (2004, 2006, 2007-11)

league-record 5-time Peak Performer as league's leading scorer; including four straight from 2008-11


3-time WNBA MVP (2001, 2004, 2006)

Two-time WNBA Champion (2001, 2002)

2002 WNBA Finals MVP

8-time All-WNBA First Team (1997, 2000-04, 2006, 2008)

8-time WNBA All Star (1999-2003, 2005, 2006, 2009)

3-time All-Star MVP (1999, 2001, 2002)

15-time WNBA Player of the Week (league record)


9-time WNBA All-Star (1999-2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2013)

4-time WNBA Champion (1997-2000) (member of only 4-time WNBA Championship team Houston Comets)

WNBA All-Star MVP (2000)

3-time All-WNBA First Team (1997, 1998, 2004)

4-time All-WNBA Second Team (1999-2002)


Two-time WNBA MVP (2008, 2013)

WNBA Rookie of the Year (2008)

WNBA All-Rookie Team (2008)

4-time All-WNBA First Team (2008, 2012-14)

Two-time WNBA All-Defensive Second Team (2009, 2012)

3-time WNBA All-Star (2011, 2013, 2014)

2013 WNBA All-Star MVP

Two-time rebounding champ (2008, 2009)

Only women's basketball player to win the AP Female Athlete of the Year, USBWA Player of the Year, Naismith Player of the Year, John R. Wooden Award, WNBA Rookie of the Year and WNBA MVP in the same year (2008).

Of these four, only Moore, Taurasi and Thompson have won more than two championships. Parker, as great as she is, has not been able to add a WNBA championship to her resume. So, I ask one question of you.

Who is the most dominant women's basketball player of all-time? Take a look at the stats and decide for yourself.