clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WNBA All Defensive First and Second Teams Named

The twelve WNBA coaches have made their selections for All Defensive First and Second Teams named.

Christian Petersen

The WNBA has released its All Defensive First and Second Team selections.  These selections are determined by the 12 WNBA head coaches.  No coach is allowed to vote for his or her own players.

The Atlanta Dream had two players named to the All-Defensive First Team in Sancho Lyttle and Angel McCoughtry.  Leading all selections for All-Defensive Team was Brittney Griner, who received 55 total points.  (Griner was also the choice for Defensive Player of the Year by sportswriters.)

Player Team Position Points

Brittney Griner                     Phoenix Mercury                   Center                            55

Sancho Lyttle                        Atlanta Dream                       Forward                         45

Briann January                     Indiana Fever                         Guard                             34

Angel McCoughtry               Atlanta Dream                       Forward                          30

Tanisha Wright                     Seattle Storm                         Guard                             30

2014 WNBA All-Defensive Second Team

Player Team Position Points

Alana Beard                        Los Angeles Sparks                             Guard                              29

Tamika Catchings               Indiana Fever                                      Forward                          29

Danielle Robinson               San Antonio Stars                               Guard                              27

Sylvia Fowles                       Chicago Sky                                        Center                             17

Maya Moore                       Minnesota Lynx                                  Forward                          17