clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Immaculata University women's basketball team inducted to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame

Today in Dallas, Texas, the Immaculata University women's basketball team was inducted to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame as a member of the Class of 2014.

Cooper Neill

The Mighty Macs won three straight AIAW championships from 1972 to 1974 and won all but two of their games in that time frame, under the leadership of head coach Cathy Rush. Rush was inducted to the Naismith Hall of Fame in 2008. In today's era of women's college basketball where schools like UConn, Tennessee, and Stanford are the perennial powers, back in the 70's, it was Immaculata.

A movie was made in 2009 on the Immaculata team, which was entitled The Mighty Macs, starring Carla Gugino who played Cathy Rush.

The representative for the team at today's event in Dallas was Judy Martelli (née Marra). And you can watch a video interview of her on by clicking here. Martelli is the wife of current St. Joseph's men's basketball head coach Phil Martelli.

Another notable player for the Mighty Macs was Marianne Stanley, who ended up with a storied college basketball coaching career herself, most notably at Old Dominion, where the Monarchs won a NWIT title in 1978, two AIAW titles in 1979 and 1980, and the NCAA championship in 1985. She is now an assistant coach for the Washington Mystics.

The Mighty Macs, and the Class of 2014 will be formally enshrined into the Hall of Fame on Friday, August 8, in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The other Class of 2014 inductees for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame are:

  • Alonzo Mourning, a seven time NBA All-Star and two time NBA Defensive Player of the Year who is most famous for playing on the Miami Heat.
  • Nolan Richardson, former head coach of the Arkansas Razorbacks men's basketball team where he won the 1994 National Championship. He also coached the Tulsa Shock from 2010-2011.
  • Mitch Richmond, a six time NBA All-Star who was the 1989 Rookie of the Year for the Golden State Warriors, but played most of his career with the Sacramento Kings.
  • Gary Williams, former head coach of the Maryland Terrapins men's basketball team where he won the 2002 National Championship.
  • Bob Leonard, the winningest coach in ABA history, where he won three titles with the Indiana Pacers fin 1970, 1972, and 1973.
  • David Stern, NBA Commissioner from 1984-2014.
  • Nat Clifton, one of the first African American players to sign an NBA contract. He was an All-Star in 1957.
  • Sarunas Marciulionis, the first Soviet player to play in the NBA who also became a major figure in developing basketball leagues in Lithuania.
  • Guy Rodgers, a four time NBA All-Star who also led Temple to two Final Fours in 1956 and 1958 during his college playing career.