clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

AP: Candace Parker wins 2013 WNBA MVP in closest race since 2005

The AP is reporting that Candace Parker will win the 2013 WNBA MVP award in the closest race since 2005.

Parker edged out Minnesota's Maya Moore and Chicago's Elena Delle Donne in one of the closest ballots in league history, the person told the AP. Parker finished with 234 points, Moore had 218 and Delle Donne 189. It's the closest the top two players have been in the voting since Sheryl Swoopes edged Lauren Jackson by two points in 2005.

This probably shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone: Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker has been talked up as the favorite all season and, statistically, she really did have an outstanding offensive season.

Yet the issue here is that there were arguably some other players who meant a lot more to their respective teams, such as Tamika Catchings, Sylvia Fowles, and Angel McCoughtry to mention a few. And there's an interesting story told by those net plus/minus numbers when it comes to this year's MVP race.

But we've been through this a few times this year so for more on the award race, check out our MVP watch storystream. Share your thoughts in the comments.