FGCU dominates A-Sun awards


It's been a very good day for the FGCU women's basketball program. On the eve of the A-Sun tournament, the Eagles collected a lot of hardware. Karl Smesko was named Coach of the Year, his fourth. Sarah Hansen was named A-Sun player of the Year, Brittany Kennedy was named Defensive Player of the Year and freshman Jaime Gluesing made the A-Sun all-freshman team.