clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WNBA awards season descends on Connecticut

The WNBA is not only kicking off the playoffs from Mohegan Sun, but also the awards season - and in a big way. Your 2012 WNBA Player of the Year is none other than:

Tina Charles - MVP

She received 345 points (25 first-place votes), followed by Candace Parker (253 points), Tamika Catching (210 points) and Maya Moore (128 points). In total, 16 women received points in this year's voting.

Renee Montgomery - Sixth Woman

After four consecutive years of DeWanna Bonner, Montgomery took the top spot after garnering 23 (of 41) votes for Sixth Woman of the Year. She was followed in the voting by Danielle Adams (9 votes) and Jia Perkins (6 votes). Erlana Larkins, Monica Wright and Avery Warley all received one vote each.

Kara Lawson - Kim Perrot Sportsmanship

Lawson nabbed 18 (of 41) votes to earn the award honoring a player who exemplifies the ideals of sportsmanship - ethical behavior, fair play and integrity. This is her second selection for this honor, also winning in 2009. Second in the voting was Becky Hammon (5 votes), with Alana Beard and DeWanna Bonner both getting three votes apiece.

Mohegan Sun Arena - 2013 WNBA All-Star

If all these Tiffany blue boxes wasn't enough, it was announced that Mohegan Sun will be the site of the 2013 WNBA All-Star festivities on July 27. This will mark the third occasion the venue will host the All-Star event, also tapped in 2005 and 2009.