clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award Winner Tavelyn James: Eastern Michigan’s Superstar

Tavelyn James, who led Eastern Michigan University to the MAC Tournament title, also won the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award this year.

And she's a player that deserves more attention.

"Showing outstanding character and athletic ability, Tavelyn has demonstrated every quality that defines the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. "She has established herself as one of the greatest players of all-time in the Mid-American Conference with a remarkable number of records and a true leader for the Eastern Michigan program throughout her career."

If history is any indication, James might also be a strong WNBA prospect.

14 of 16 Frances Pomeroy Naismith winners since 1997 have been drafted and 7 are currently on WNBA rosters, including last season's #3 draft pick Courtney Vandersloot.

James is not only the nation’s second leading scorer at 24.2; while leading the MAC conference in free throw percentage at 86.4. James is shooting 41% from the field and 31% from three; she also is Eastern Michigan's all-time leading scorer and second all-time in the conference.