clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 WNBA Playoffs: Conference finals schedule

The WNBA conference finals schedule is set as the Minnesota Lynx, LA Sparks, Connecticut Sun and Indiana Fever made it through the semis, and some by the skin of their teeth.

Mark L. Baer-US PRESSWIRE - Presswire

After a close call to decide the final team to advance to the next round of the 2012 WNBA Playoffs, the Minnesota Lynx live to defend their title at least for a few more days. The Lynx, who narrowly escaped the first round after being taken down to the wire by Seattle, will have a day to rest before facing off for the Western Conference title against the Los Angeles Sparks.

If this sounds familiar, the defending champs took three games to dispatch their first-round opponent in 2011, including a one-point win (in their first game vs. San Antonio). Minnesota then took care of the Mercury in two before sweeping the Dream en route to the title. It remains to be seen if the Lynx will get back to the finals, but no matter what, the team from the East will be a fresh faced foe.

In the East, the top two seeds also advanced after the Fever lost home court advantage in their series with the Dream, then regained it back in Atlanta, and finished off the series in front of their home crowd in resounding fashion.. As the second seeded team, winning on the road will be paramount for Indiana to send Tamika Catchings to the Finals - pardon the pun, but they'll have to gamble (at Mohegan Sun Casino) and win.

Western Conference Finals

No. 1 Minnesota
No. 2 Los Angeles

Eastern Conference Finals

No. 1 Connecticut
No. 2 Indiana

Game 1: Thursday, Oct. 4, 8 p.m. ET - ESPN 2
Game 2: Sunday, Oct. 7, 3:30 p.m. ET - ABC
Game 3: Wednesday, Oct. 10, 8 p.m. ET - ESPN 2 (if necessary)
Game 1: Friday, Oct. 5, 8 p.m. ET - ESPN 2
Game 2: Monday, Oct. 8, 8 p.m. ET - ESPN 2
Game 3: Thursday, Oct. 11, 8:30 p.m. ET - ESPN 2 (if necessary)