clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 All-WNBA Teams: Tamika Catchings earns her seventh first team selection, Seimone Augustus gets first

The WNBA has announced its 2012 All-WNBA Teams today, with the last two MVPs and the 2011 WNBA Finals MVP headlining the list.

2012 WNBA MVP Tina Charles led the voting with 196 points while 2012 Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings was third with 161 votes, with voting for the top three going in about the order of the 2012 MVP voting. In addition, 2011 WNBA Finals MVP Seimone Augustus got her first First-Team selection.

Player Team Position Points
Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks Forward 176
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Forward 161
Tina Charles Connecticut Sun Center 196
Cappie Pondexter New York Liberty Guard 128
Seimone Augustus Minnesota Lynx Guard 95
Player Team Position Points
Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx Forward 102
Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars Forward 67
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky Center 95
Kristi Toliver Los Angeles Sparks Guard 91
Lindsay Whalen Minnesota Lynx Guard 88

Voting for the All-WNBA First- and Second-Teams was conducted by a panel of 41 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season. It's important to note that voters were instructed to select players by position and players received five points for each First-Team vote and three points for each Second-Team designation.

We'll have more on this later, but what are your thoughts? Any surprises? Glaring snubs? Drop 'em in the comments.