clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 WNBA Award Winners List: MVP Tamika Catchings Led All Vote Getters For Her Sixth All-WNBA First Team Selection

The major individual WNBA awards have finally been announced and it was a great year for Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings, despite falling short of the ultimate goal: her first WNBA championship.

A listing of all of the award winners and links to our commentary - as well as yours - after the jump. With the big picture clear now, what are your overall thoughts on the league this year? Any major surprises?

Click the links for our commentary, which included your immediate reactions in the comments.

Media Awards

Voted upon by a panel of 40 local and national sportswriters and broadcasters:

Most Valuable Player: Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever)

All-WNBA First Team: Tamika Catchings, Tina Charles, Angel McCoughtry, Diana Taurasi and Lindsay Whalen

All-WNBA Second Team:  Penny Taylor, Seimone Augustus, Sylvia Fowles, Sue Bird and Cappie Pondexter

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky)

Coach of the Year: Cheryl Reeve (Minnesota Lynx)

Rookie of the Year: Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx)

Most Improved Player: Kia Vaughn (New York Liberty)

Sixth Woman of the Year: DeWanna Bonner (Phoenix Mercury)

Coaches' Awards

Voted upon by the 12 WNBA coaches:

All-Rookie Team: Maya Moore, Danielle Robinson, Courtney Vandersloot, Danielle Adams, Liz Cambage 

All-Defensive First Team: Rebekkah Brunson, Tamika Catchings, Sylvia Fowles, Angel McCoughtry, Tanisha Wright

All-Defensive Second Team: Swin Cash, Tina Charles, Katie Douglas, Sancho Lyttle, Armintie Price