San Antonio Stars vs. Atlanta Dream preview

Soobum Im-USA TODAY Sports

The WNBA season tips off in Atlanta on NBA TV as the Eastern Conference champs take on the sort-of-healthy Stars.

After a season filled with injury, self-doubt and rookies, the San Antonio Silver Stars have both one of their stars back as they try to return to the playoffs. Their season begins against the Eastern Conference champion Atlanta Dream.

The Dream won their third conference title in four seasons and are now 0-9 in WNBA Finals games. They crushed the Stars in their first meeting last year and San Antonio returned the favor in the team's last regular season game. Ordinarily last year's head-to-head games mean nothing when talking about matchups for the next season; this season, they literally mean nothing.

San Antonio was a bad basketball team in 2013 -- a typical result when you lose your two best players for (effectively) the entire season. Becky Hammon is out to start another season, this time with a sprained ankle she sustained on Wednesday. The team claims she will be re-evaluated before Saturday's game against the Shock...but I don't expect to see her for a while.

Sophia Young-Malcolm made headlines during the offseason for being a homophobe (yay!) so it will be nice to see her play basketball instead of reading her tweets. As Young-Malcolm goes, so will the Stars. What's nice about the Stars playing overseas is that this will not be the first time Young-Malcolm has played a competitive basketball game since her injury last year.

Here's a look at the finalized 2014 roster for the Stars:

23 Danielle Adams F-C 6-1 239 2/19/89 Texas A&M Kansas City, Mo. 3
40 Kayla Alexander C 6-4 195 1/5/91 Syracuse Milton, Ontario 1
32 Jayne Appel C 6-4 210 5/14/88 Stanford Pleasant Hill, Calif. 4
11 Heather Butler G 5-5 128 11/7/91 Tennessee Martin Medina, TN R
20 Shameka Christon F 6-2 174 2/15/82 Arkansas Hot Springs, Ark. 9
25 Becky Hammon G 5-6 136 3/11/77 Colorado State Rapid City, S.D. 15
42 Shenise Johnson G 5-11 172 12/8/90 Miami Henrietta, N.Y. 2
21 Kayla McBride G-F 5-11 174 6/25/92 Notre Dame Erie, PA R
7 Jia Perkins G 5-8 155 2/23/82 Texas Tech Granbury, Texas 10
13 Danielle Robinson G 5-9 125 5/10/89 Oklahoma San Jose, Calif. 3
0 Davellyn Whyte G 5-11 159 5/14/91 Arizona Phoenix, Ariz. 1
33 Sophia Young-Malcolm F 6-1 165 12/15/83 Baylor St. Vincent, Grenadines 9

It's the first game of the season with what feels like a whole new team. The western conference is very tough (again) this year, but if the Stars stay off the injury sheet this season will at least be more enjoyable for fans than the trainwreck that was 2013.

I'll post a report on the game tonight -- you can catch tonight's contest on NBA TV.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker