2014 WNBA All-Star Game Starters announced: Maya Moore, Elena Delle Donne were leading vote-getters

The lineup is not a particular surprise from early returns which were released back in late June. Maya Moore earned the most votes of all players with 28,239.

The WNBA has officially announced who the starters will be for the 2014 All-Star Game which will be held in Phoenix.

First, here are the Eastern Conference Starters:

Player Team Position
Shoni Schimmel Atlanta Dream Guard
Cappie Pondexter New York Liberty Guard
Angel McCoughtry Atlanta Dream Frontcourt
Elena Delle Donne Chicago Sky Frontcourt
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Frontcourt

Compared with early ballot returns which were released in the last week of June, there haven't been too many changes, with the exception of Pondexter overtaking Washington Mystics guard Ivory Latta. That said, Pondexter was only behind Latta by a mere 48 votes. In addition, Pondexter has more "brand name" recognition than Latta. Given that All-Star starter voting is a popularity contest, it shouldn't be a shock to see Pondexter finish ahead. Still, the final vote count was close given that she had 10,104 while Latta had 9,932.

With Elena Delle Donne sitting out indefinitely due to Lyme Disease complications, it is a real possibility that she will sit out the All-Star Game. If she does, one of the reserves will replace her in the starting lineup.

And here are the Western Conference starters:

Player Team Position
Diana Taurasi Phoenix Mercury Guard
Skylar Diggins
Tulsa Shock
Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx Frontcourt
Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks Frontcourt
Brittney Griner Phoenix Mercury Frontcourt

The one change from the early returns in the West is Skylar Diggins supplanting Seimone Augustus in one of the guard spots. Diggins made up a 1,577 vote gap to leapfrog both Augustus and Minnesota Lynx point guard Lindsay Whalen and earn a starting spot.

Finally, below is a list of the Top 10 players based on the number of votes cast:

Player Conference Votes
Maya Moore Western 28,239
Elena Delle Donne Eastern 26.129
Shoni Schimmel Eastern 25,601
Candace Parker Western 23,555
Diana Taurasi Western 19,404
Brittney Griner Western 18,432
Skylar Diggins Western 17,937
Seimone Augustus Western 16,143
Tamika Catchings Eastern 13,939
Erika de Souza Eastern 12,859

The All-Star reserves will be announced next Tuesday, on July 15.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.