FanPost

Sunday Open Thread: Another Quintuple Header, Two Games On NBA TV

Thursday: Storm hosts Shock

Friday: Everyone else, including a thriller between Minny and ATL.

Saturday: Shock hosts Storm

Sunday: Everyone else once again. Like Friday, there are some good storylines or achievements up for grabs for all of the matchups today. All games are on LiveAccess, with two of them on NBA TV.

Game 1: Minnesota Lynx (23-4) at San Antonio Silver Stars (17-10), 3 PM ET/2 PM CT/12 PM PT

WNBA.com | Lynx Recap of Friday's Game vs. Atlanta that was a great one | Stars Preview

The Stars were the hottest team when the Olympic Break started. Well, now, they just endured a four game losing streak. Granted, their last two losses were close, but things won't get easier today when they face the Lynx, a team that has won 10 straight now. It will not be on NBA TV unfortunately, nor any local TV....

Game of the day!

Game 2: Washington Mystics (5-23) at Atlanta Dream (15-14), 3 PM ET/2 PM CT/1 PM MT/12 PM PT

WNBA.com | Just some more notes on the Mystics' loss against LA on Friday | Today is Fan Appreciation Day for ATL

The Dream played the Mystics twice after break, and even without its star player for whatever reason, ATL beat the Mystics convincingly both times. Expect the same today, where the Dream and its ticket buyers will win prizes in Fan Appreciation day. Why? This time, Angel will be back, and yes, I know the Dream lost Friday to Minny, but it was a hell of a game now that I got to see more of it on LiveAccess.

This game just happens to be on NBA TV, or SPSO if you're in ATL. Maybe the Mystics can keep this game more competitive? Maybe, but I doubt it, and this should be another nail in the coffin to punch the Dream's playoff ticket.

Game 3: LA Sparks (20-9) at NY Liberty (11-17), 4 PM ET/1 PM PT

WNBA.com | Toliver is adjusting to the pro gram really well | Liberty Preview

If you're in LA, watch KDOC, and if you're in the NYC area, turn on MSG.

Last time these teams played, the Liberty got a butt kicking almost as bad as the one the Mystics had in their trip to Staples this past June. This time, with the Libs trying to make a playoff push and in their (temporary) house, they hope to even the score vs. the Sparks. I just don't think it will happen however.

Game 4: Chicago Sky (11-16) at Connecticut Sun (20-8), 5 PM ET/2 PM PT

WNBA.com | The league will probably put in the text sooner or later from the same source, but FOXSports.com already has the AP one | Queenie's Recap of the Sky's last game, more from a Liberty perspective of course

In all three of the games played so far between these teams, the road team won, even a couple weeks ago with Chicago winning in convincing fashion to stop a long skid. Now, the Sky has gone on a two game winning streak and would like to continue its positive momentum for a playoff berth. The Sun however will like to clinch that #1 seed as well, especially after its 91-82 loss to Phoenix on Friday.

Game 5: Phoenix Mercury (7-20) at Indiana Fever (18-9), 6 PM ET/3 PM Arizona and PT

WNBA.com | Fever Preview | Again from Fox Sports, an AP preview since the league hasn't put up the same one yet... | From the Hartford Courant: Last Game, DeWanna Bonner scored 35 points, and Diana sat out the crucial moments. She still scored 16 points in 18 minutes of play!

DT played her first post-break game against the Fever and lost at home. Now after an impressive win against the Sun last Friday, the Mercury looks to even the score against Indiana, a team that's also looking to clinch the #1 seed in the East. Sure, the Mercury in all likelihood won't make the playoffs unless it wins all its remaining games and Seattle loses all the rest of theirs, but Phoenix did win three of its last four contests, and three of its last five contests since DT returned. So in short, the Mercury is not only playing good ball, but also winning ball.

Fox Sports Indiana has this locally if you're in Indianapolis...

JUST SO YOU KNOW

PLAYOFF PICTURE FROM WNBA.com. Mathematically as of 1 PM ET, no team has been eliminated from contention.

So those are the games for the day. Enjoy the basketball, as well as NFL football, since today is the first Sunday where we'll see a full slate of games. I certainly will watch the Skins as Robert Griffin III plays his first real pro game against the Saints at 1 PM!

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker