Hannah Foslien - Getty Images

2012 WNBA Awards: Tamika Catchings gets seventh All-WNBA First-Team selection, Seimone Augustus gets first

The WNBA has announced its 2012 All-WNBA Teams today, with the last two WNBA MVPs and the first selection for the 2011 WNBA Finals MVP headlining the list.

  • Live
9 Total Updates since October 17, 2012
  • Important 8
  • Updates 5
  • Articles 4
  • All Updates 9

Who were the top snubs from the All-WNBA Team?

Prior to Game Two of the WNBA Finals, the WNBA announced its 2012 All-WNBA teams. Naturally, the announcement of teams like this causes us to reflect on the season, wonder who the best players were, and then wonder, "Who was robbed snubbed?" The following is a look at a few potential snubs and the players whose slots they could possibly take.

For more on the 2012 WNBA Awards, check out our storystream on the sidebar to the right of this page.


Augustus gets first All-WNBA First-Team selection

The WNBA has announced its 2012 All-WNBA Teams today, with the last two MVPs and the 2011 WNBA Finals MVP headlining the list.

2012 WNBA MVP Tina Charles led the voting with 196 points while 2012 Defensive Player of the Year Tamika Catchings was third with 161 votes, with voting for the top three going in about the order of the 2012 MVP voting. In addition, 2011 WNBA Finals MVP Seimone Augustus got her first First-Team selection.

Player Team Position Points
Candace Parker Los Angeles Sparks Forward 176
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Forward 161
Tina Charles Connecticut Sun Center 196
Cappie Pondexter New York Liberty Guard 128
Seimone Augustus Minnesota Lynx Guard 95
Player Team Position Points
Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx Forward 102
Sophia Young San Antonio Silver Stars Forward 67
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky Center 95
Kristi Toliver Los Angeles Sparks Guard 91
Lindsay Whalen Minnesota Lynx Guard 88

Voting for the All-WNBA First- and Second-Teams was conducted by a panel of 41 national and local sportswriters and broadcasters at the conclusion of the regular season. It's important to note that voters were instructed to select players by position and players received five points for each First-Team vote and three points for each Second-Team designation.

We'll have more on this later, but what are your thoughts? Any surprises? Glaring snubs? Drop 'em in the comments.


Swish Appeal's 2012 All-Rookie Second Team

Yesterday we took a look at the top five WNBA rookies, only listing statistics for the next five. Today we fill out an All-Rookie Second Team with a look at a few rookies who had a case for the 2012 WNBA All-Rookie Team and a few others who probably deserve incompletes for this season rather than being written off.


Who was snubbed from the 2012 All-Rookie Team?

In between playoff games we've been spending quite a bit of time talking about the 2013 WNBA Draft lottery, but haven't quite gotten around to discussing specific prospects in depth. As a preliminary step to looking at 2013 draft prospects, the following is a look back at the top players in the 2012 rookie class - and specifically the 2012 WNBA All-Rookie Team - which provides a well-rounded reflection on top prospects, suspect prospects, and how some players can get better with time.


Johnson, Ogwumike headline 2012 All-Rookie Team

Along with the Rookie of the Year award, the 2012 WNBA All-Rookie team was announced today.

The five-woman team is as follows:

Player Team Position Votes
Glory Johnson Tulsa Shock Forward 11
Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks Forward 11
Tiffany Hayes Atlanta Dream Guard 9
Samantha Prahalis Phoenix Mercury Guard 9
Riquna Williams Tulsa Shock Guard 8

For more details on each player's ceiling, visit WNBA.com.


Ross, Ogwumike receive WNBA COY and ROY honors

The Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year come from the same team - the Los Angeles Sparks - as coach Carol Ross and Nneka Ogwumike pick up the honors.


Catchings named Defensive Player of the Year

Indiana's Tamika Catchings regained her title as WNBA Defensive Player of the Year, for the fifth time in her career. Catchings who was usurped in 2011 by Sylvia Fowles, has also earned this designation in 2005, 2006, 2009 and 2010. She garnered 19 of 41 votes cast in the contest by media members.

Atlanta's Angel McCoughtry was second with nine votes, followed by Los Angeles teammates Candace Parker (6 votes) and Alana Beard (4 votes). Others receiving votes include Sancho Lyttle (2), Tina Charles (1) and Sophia Young (1).

Also announced were the 2012 All-Defensive Teams, as selected by the 12 WNBA head coaches (points earned in parentheses):

First Team -

  • Tamika Catchings (50)
  • Sancho Lyttle (26)
  • Sylvia Fowles (33)
  • Alana Beard (30)
  • Briann January (26)

Second Team -

  • Sophia Young (22)
  • Candace Parker (15)
  • Tina Charles (21)
  • Armintie Price (18)
  • Danielle Robinson (17)

Interestingly, Charles, Parker and Young, who received DPOY votes, did not make the first team. Instead, Fowles, Beard and January joined Catchings and Lyttle as first-team designees.


2012 WNBA Awards: Toliver wins Most Improved

The WNBA announced tonight that Los Angeles Sparks guard Kristi Toliver has won the 2012 WNBA Most Improved Player Award in something of a landslide.

Toliver won 24 of 41 media votes (58%) from a panel of national and local sportswriters and broadcasters, more than triple the next closest candidate (Phoenix Mercury forward DeWanna Bonner, 7 votes).

Toliver set career-highs in a number of statistical categories this season, but the most significant given her style of play was arguably her shooting efficiency, which improved from 42.3% in 2011 to 49.1% in 2012. That improved shooting efficiency was a primary reason why she made one of the biggest statistical improvements of any player in the league this season.

We went over the pros and cons of Toliver as a candidate at mid-season and things pretty much held to form to finish the regular season, but the bottom line is that she did take a major step forward.

The full voting results are as follows:

Name Team Votes
Kristi Toliver L.A. Sparks 24
DeWanna Bonner Phoenix Mercury 7
Epiphanny Prince Chicago Sky 6
Rebekkah Brunson Minnesota Lynx 2
Kara Lawson Connecticut Sun 2
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.