FanPost

Friday Open Thread: Three Games With Teams Playing For Draft Lottery Position

With Chicago losing last night, New York got in the playoffs after a dismal start to the year, and even they lost to the Shock. Not only that the seeding for the playoffs is finished. However, on the other end, Phoenix and DC are playing for most chances in the Big Three sweepstakes. DC is leading, but a surprise two game "losing" streak could drop the Mystics to 2nd place in this race.

So here are the games.

Game 1: Indiana Fever(20-12) at Washington Mystics (5-27), 7 PM ET/4 PM PT

WNBA.com | Fever Preview | DC Preview

This is the last road game for the Fever, and with Briann January and Shavonte Zellous not on the road, Tamika and Katie will have to play more minutes than they probably would otherwise, especially against the worst team in the league.

For DC, this is "Fan Appreciation Night" and the team's last home game for the season. Fans haven't been appreciated to say the least, but I hope to see the Mystics play competently. Crystal Langhorne had a foot injury and was on a wheelchair Sunday, so I don't know if she's up for today, or the rest of the season really.

The story today is which team is going to look more disinterested tonight? The Fever because it can't go higher than 2nd place, or the Mystics because a loss tonight would clinch the lottery standings? NBA TV will play this game nationally.

Game 2: Minnesota Lynx (26-6) at Phoenix Mercury (7-25), 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/7 PM Arizona and PT

WNBA.com | Lynx Preview | I may have put it up as a link for an earlier Phoenix game and as a shot at DC, but youngsters get chances in Phoenix when injuries happen, so the future is certainly brighter there.

This is also on NBA TV... The channel was thinking DT vs. Maya, but I believe that the Mercury is going to sit its star out for the year, since there's nothing to play for, and the team also hopes the Fever and Sky can play half heartedly enough for the Mystics to perhaps fall to 2nd place in the lottery.

Even if Minny rests some starters, it is unlikely that the Mercury will win, but then again, didn't Tulsa beat LA badly not too long ago?

Locally, turn on Fox Sports Net Minnesota in the Twin Cities, Fox Sports Arizona Plus in Phoenix.

Game 3: San Antonio Silver Stars (20-12) at Seattle Storm (14-18), 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/7 PM PT

WNBA.com | LJ should return today, and the team should be at full strength for the "second season"

The Storm goes for its 10th straight home victory vs. the Stars and even up the regular season series. But with both team's seeds determined, can they both put on a good game for us to watch? A strong regular season finish can definitely help the playoff run too.

So those are tonight's games. Let's see who wins the most balls tonight, and if not so, by the end of the weekend.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker