FanPost

Tuesday Open Thread: Three Games

In yesterday's game between Indiana and Minnesota, the Lynx sealed the Fever's fate as the #2 seed in the Eastern Conference, headlined by Maya's hot shooting and a career high 29 points, Lindsay Whalen's 13 points, 8 boards, and 6 dimes, and Seimone's return. There are three games today as the Eastern Conference playoff picture will be ever clearer with New York and Chicago playing games as well.

One game on the four letter network's second channel, another on NBA TV, and the rest on LiveAccess.

Game 1: NY Liberty (14-17) at San Antonio Silver Stars (19-12), 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com | Liberty Preview

San Antonio still has a shot at the 2nd seed for the West, and NY may have the upper hand on the last Eastern Conference playoff spot, but it is still not yet a guarantee. Even if the Liberty wins and the Sky loses tonight, we won't see the complete playoff picture solidified yet, but it will be pretty close to a done deal at that point. With the Stars suffering a down stretch as of late and the Liberty winning three in a row (though the last two were against the Mystics), who knows, maybe it isn't a stretch to think that this team could end up at .500 given that NY's last two games are against the Shock.

Game 2: Chicago Sky (13-18) at Seattle Storm (13-18), 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/7 PM PT

WNBA.com | Bird should return tonight

These teams have identical records, but as you know, Seattle is the 4th seed in the west, while Chicago is trying to get in the playoffs, and hope that the Stars and Shock can provide some help. Swin Cash returns to Seattle, and like the link above for the Storm, Sue Bird expects to play tonight. This is also the team's breast cancer awareness night.

Game 3: Phoenix Mercury (7-24) at LA Sparks (22-10), 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT and Arizona Time

WNBA.com

You wish this would be an exciting match because of the star power on both teams, but Phoenix looks like it's in good position to win the most lottery balls for the west, and the Sparks will most likely get the 2nd seed in the west and has a good chance to win this game even if they don't play at 100%.....

This game is on NBA TV, and in the LA area on TWC 101.

Hmm.. About those Mystics Season Tickets for 2013?

The team's season ticket renewal party was yesterday. Only one day after the breast cancer game against New York. I wasn't there because I had class, and unfortunately have imposed a wallet lockout on the team. Obviously, some people renewed whether it is because they feel comfortable making that leap of faith that the Mystics will move in the right direction, because they think a big three pick is guaranteed to come here, or because they just support the fact that women are playing basketball and serve as role models for the community. I respect their decisions and hope they had a nice time yesterday. I also hope to be part of next season as well, but I'm not holding my breath just yet.

So those are the games. Let's hope all the teams come out tonight and play hard, so we don't just have to "sit and wait" for the playoffs.... or the lottery.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker