FanPost

Saturday and Sunday WNBA Open Thread: Six Total Games

Six more games, four on Saturday, two more on Sunday. One Saturday game is on ESPN 2 when we see a rematch of last year's Finals. Another is on NBA TV, and the rest on LiveAccess.

The big development going on in the league as a whole right now is that New York has now overtaken Chicago for the fourth spot out East. Wow. One interesting trend is this. Chicago is 4-8 at home as opposed to 4-5 on the road. The schedule in the first half of the season was more home heavy than road heavy as well, for what it's worth...

Let's get to the games.

SATURDAY GAMES:

Game 1: Minnesota Lynx (18-4) at Atlanta Dream (12-11), 7 PM ET/6 PM CT/4 PM PT

WNBA.com | SBN Atlanta: Angel McCoughtry Still Missing From The Dream's Lineup

First matchup between last year's Finals teams. Atlanta is on the second game of a back to back after playing the Mystics. Though Atlanta had this game under control for most of the game, they also allowed the Mystics to make a late run when Matee Ajavon erupted for a number of late buckets. Easy game of the night on paper, but not for me.

Game 2: Tulsa Shock (4-18) at San Antonio Silver Stars (16-6), 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com

This is the first matchup between these two teams in Texas. The Shock has managed to play competitively against the Stars despite talent issues which are evident in every game they play. The Stars look to bounce back from a 101-77 butt kicking they took from LA, which snapped their 12 game winning streak.

Tonight is also the Stars' breast cancer awareness night.

Game 3: Indiana Fever (13-8) at Phoenix Mercury (4-18), 10 PM ET/7 PM Arizona and PT

WNBA.com | Pacers Sports is making improvements to Bankers Life including a foul line to foul line jumbotron.

First meeting between these two teams, and I think at least some fans may feel pretty mad that Phoenix is tanking, even if DT plays again this season... Either way, the DeWanna and Sammy P duo, despite losing games isn't playing that bad, though this may be because of stats, but I still enjoy watching them play actually. For Indy, they should win this game.

Game 4: New York Liberty (9-13) at LA Sparks (18-6), 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT

WNBA.com

Okay, this is the game of the night for me, but not because I don't want to see MIN-ATL. The Libs have won three of their four post-break games and a win here at LA could really help turn the tide on their inconsistent season. If the Libs beat both the Sparks and the Storm (the last team on their west coast trip) on the road, this could be a big turning point for them, whether they're really in the "Treadmill of mediocrity" or not. As for the Sparks, they do want to continue playing at a high level like what we saw on Thursday.

SUNDAY GAMES

Game 1: Chicago Sky (8-14) at Connecticut Sun (17-5), 5 PM ET/2 PM PT

WNBA.com | Sky Preview

Must win for the Sky in order to stay in playoff contention, you heard it here first.

Game 2: New York Liberty (9-14) at Seattle Storm (10-13), 9 PM ET/6 PM PT

WNBA.com | Storm Preview

The Libs go for the sweep against the Storm. If the Storm wants any chance of being higher than the 4th seed in the playoffs, it needs to win this game. The bigger story of this game as I mentioned before is if NY wins this game AND the LA game.

So those are the games for the weekend.

In the beginning of this season, I anticipated that Tulsa and DC would both be the bottom feeders while everyone else would be fighting for a playoff spot. Now, oddly enough, while Tulsa and DC are in fact bottom feeders, Phoenix is tied for the worst record in the league with Tulsa, and oh boy has the Sky fallen!

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker