FanPost

Wednesday, Thursday, Friday Open Thread: Six Total Games

I'm back to combining threads since it's the middle of the week. One game on Wednesday, three more on Thursday, two more on Friday. All of our Thursday games are in Arizona or Pacific Time, which is great for the west coasters. Two of the six on NBA TV, and all on LiveAccess, except for one game on Thursday when NY faces PHX.

WEDNESDAY GAME: Chicago Sky (8-12) at Atlanta Dream (10-11), 7 PM ET/6 PM CT/4 PM CT

WNBA.com | Sky Preview

ATL looks to get back to .500, and the Sky, well, there have been some dark skies and torrential storms as of late as Big Syl and the gang have lost SEVEN in a row. That's worse than the Mystics!

This game is on NBA TV nationally, but if you're in Chicago, turn on CN100, and if you're in ATL, turn on Fox Sports Atlanta.

THURSDAY GAMES

Game 1: NY Liberty (8-13) at Phoenix Mercury (4-17), 10 PM ET/7 PM Arizona and PT

WNBA.com | NY's Nicole Powell is from Phoenix, here's a Q&A s soon as a month ago, we thought that NY at best had a distant shot at the playoffs. With a Sky loss Wednesday and a Liberty win on Thursday, NY would finally lay claim to one of the top four spots in the East. As for Phoenix, I'm taking bets on what injury or dental procedure will keep DT out of the lineup. This is the first meeting between these teams.

If you wanna watch this game to see Cappie go against DeWanna and Sammy P, please get your tickets to see them here. Otherwise, enjoy looking at box score updates or the archive on Friday. This is the Mercury's Green Game, which I assume is for environmental awareness.

Game 2: Indiana Fever (12-8) at Seattle Storm (10-12), 10 PM ET/7 PM PT

WNBA.com | Fever Preview

Another east-west match where the teams are facing each other for the first time. Game should be more interesting if LJ makes her debut. Pretty sure Jayda Evans of the Seattle Times knows sooner than I do as of 10 AM on Wednesday morning.

Orly_medium

via i1.kym-cdn.com and Know Your Meme

UPDATE at 2:40 PM ET on 8/22: According to the Storm's twitter page, and also retweeted on Swish Appeal's twitter, LJ will be back.

Game 3: San Antonio Silver Stars (16-5) at LA Sparks (17-6), 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/7 PM PT

WNBA.com

In one sentence, game of the night. Both teams are on long winning streaks, and sadly, one of them must fall tonight. It is a borderline capital crime that this is not on ESPN2, let alone NBA TV. This is the last of four meetings between these squads, with the Stars winning all three games by good margins. Let's see if that changes on Thursday.

FRIDAY GAMES

Game 1: Atlanta Dream (11-11) at Washington Mystics (5-17), 7 PM ET/4 PM PT

WNBA.com

This is the first of four matchups between Angel's and Lang's teams. It's also Ladies' Night where some shopping vendors will be in the arena and fans can try some new makeup and perfumes. You know who is gracing the splash page. I don't fault her, don't get me wrong, but Lang, Mo, and Matee just don't seem to be featured enough in marketing promotions and I've already been on record about it.

Since I'm not a lady, I'll just watch the game and hope the Mystics can continue to give Jasmine and Natalie minutes, for better or for worse.

NBA TV has this game on, and if you're in the DMV, turn on Comcast SportsNet.

Game 2: Chicago Sky (8-13) at Tulsa Shock (3-18), 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com

Last time these two met, the Sky won a close game. Now, Tulsa has an opportunity to lay the hammer down on a reeling Chicago team. As for Chicago, if they lose Wednesday and lose Friday, I think it's safe to say that Big Syl will have to endure yet another season without being in the playoffs. I don't think they'll be worse than the Mystics, but 5th place sounds about right if this happens.

And I really want to see the Shock break last year's win total, even if the team is playing better ball than last year. At some point, they need to start winning games where they do play well, Slambage or no Slambage.

That's the long docket for the rest of the work week. Enjoy your games, and feel free to meme things.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker