FanPost

Tuesday Open Thread: Five Games All Evening Long and Some Thoughts on the Mystics-Sky Game

Five games, two on national TV. All teams but Atlanta and Phoenix play today. First some quick thoughts on the Mystics-Sky game on Sunday. If all else fails, turn on LiveAccess.

Mystics-Sky Game on Sunday

WNBA.com | WaPo Recap | DC Basketcases' Take On The Game

As a fan, it's been tough this season. The basketball in this game wasn't pretty, but the Mystics delivered buckets when those buckets had to be made, when Matee Ajavon made a game tying basket with less than two seconds left in regulation and Jasmine made another big bucket late in OT. I hate to say it, but I was wondering throughout the game "When will we give it away?," but once Mo Currie made her game-icing free throws after a clear path foul, I knew we had this one in the bag.

Do I want to call this a game where the Mystics will end up going on a playoff push? Nope. But it was a much needed boost to fans' morale.

As I mentioned in a comment on Sunday's open thread, Team President Sheila Johnson was there and greeted with sparse applause and some audible boos. Fortunately, all five Mystics players (Chamique, Nikki, Vicki, Murriel, and Lang) on the All Time Team were treated with loud applause. The commemoration of this All Time Team left a lot to be desired, considering that not many fans came to the game, considering that the season is really bad, and also the Nats were playing too and they're the talk of town!

The positive part of the night was the post game party for season ticket holders which was held at Penn Social about a block away from Verizon Center, and the atmosphere was certainly very great. Unfortunately, I couldn't stay that long, because the garage I parked at closed at 8 PM (and I wouldn't be able to pick my car up until the next day!), but I did play some games and talk with some other fellow STH's before leaving. Damn parking garage attendants!

Game 1: Tulsa Shock (3-17) at Connecticut Sun (16-5), 7 PM ET/6 PM CT/4 PM PT

WNBA.com | Shock Preview

The reward for the Shock getting shocked by the Lynx is this date with the Sun. the Sun of course would like to solidify its position in the Eastern Conference playoffs and this is a game that needs to be a win.

Game 2: NY Liberty (7-13) at Chicago Sky (8-11), 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com | Sky Preview | Liberty Preview

The two teams have split their previous two matches this season. NY would like to get a win against the coldest team in the league based on momentum. Chicago has another "rather easy chance" to get back into the winning column. If the Sky loses today, I know I've pushed HARD for Lacey's firing, but do you think it's perhaps time to oust Coach Chatman? The Libs are now only 1.5 games out of the 4th playoff spot now.....

If you're in the Chicagoland area, turn on CN100 to watch the game.

Game 3: Washington Mystics at San Antonio Silver Stars (15-5), 8 PM ET/7 Pm CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com | Mystics Minute With Coach Lacey Today | Speaking About All Time Teams, Stars Have One Too In the Making | Mystics Preview | Stars Preview

The Stars just beat the Shock in their last game, while the Mystics won their last game as I wrote above. SA beat DC last time they met and looks to win their 12th in a row. This game will be on NBA TV.

Game 4: Minnesota Lynx (17-4) at Seattle Storm (10-11), 10 PM ET/9 PM CT/7 PM PT

WNBA.com | Sue should be back | Maya is POW for the West

The last time these teams met, Seattle won in a 65-62 thriller that really shouldn't have been that close. This time, Seimone, Lindsay, Maya, and Co. will face a team that is still looking for Lauren Jackson to return, Ann Wauters to get fully healed from her Achilles' injury, and Sue Bird to be fully cured from the stomach virus, and the above link basically says that she's ok.

The most important thing for Seattle is this. All the rest of their games this month are at home, and Sue's Crew needs to win as many of these games this month to make up for their road heavy first half which may have partly been why they lost a lot in the beginning. But hey, I'm no Carolyn Peck or Mechelle Voepel, so don't take my word for it!

Game's on ESPN2, and it should be a good one if Seattle brings its big guns.

Game 5: Indiana Fever (12-7) at LA Sparks (16-6), 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PT

WNBA.com | Tamika is POW

Sparks go for their 7th win in the row. Indy looks to continue its unbeaten streak (albeit two games) after the end of the Olympic Break, and their last loss was against this team.. This is my game of the night, though I may be a bit too tired to watch all of this game.

Game is also on ESPN3.

So those are the games, you should have at least one game to watch tonight so enjoy.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker