FanPost

Friday Open Thread: Three Games to Kick Off the Weekend including an NBA TV Game in DC

Three games to kick off your Friday and they are all in the evening. All games are on LiveAccess, and one game will be on NBA TV, which will feature the San Antonio Silver Stars as they travel to Chinatown to play the Washington Mystics.

Game 1: San Antonio Silver Stars (9-5) at Washington Mystics (3-10), 7 PM ET/6 PM CT/4 PM PT

WNBA.com | WaPo Preview | Stars Preview | Mystics Preview

The Stars have now won five games in a row, including kicking off their four game road trip with a 88-72 win over the Fever. To be fair, this was a game of two halves as the Stars had a 15 point deficit heading into the break and were losing by as much as 18 at one point, but only gave up 29 points in the second half.....

Today, the Silver Stars play against the Washington Mystics, a team coming off its first convincing win of the season (and third overall) by beating the Mercury last Sunday. DC will have some handicaps in their favor tonight, because the Stars are in the second game of a back to back, and are playing their fourth game in the last six days, all but one against playoff caliber teams. Given that there could be a fatigue and a preparation factor for SA, and the fact that the Mystics have basically prepared an entire work week for the Stars, (I know I don't want to throw out my horrible predictor powers, but) the Mystics need to steal this game and grab that fourth win.

A WaPo article earlier this season stated that Coach Lacey has matched a franchise worst stretch over 44 games. Well, it's now been been nearly two years since the Mystics have won two games in a row (they failed to do so last year). The last time they had a winning streak, DC won six games in a row in the magical 2010 season when the Mystics clinched the #1 seed in the playoffs. Back then, DC won all three games in a home stand that featured Connecticut, Minnesota, and Seattle (the juggernaut champs). Then they went on the road to beat the Stars, went home to beat the Liberty in a thriller (also ahead of us at the time for the #1 seed), then traveled to ATL and won that game too.... Okay, I'm over-reminiscing, and I'm not asking the Mystics to win all the rest of their games in a row, but I feel that today is a game that they Mystics have a chance to win considering the possible Star fatigue factor.

Game 2: Connecticut Sun (10-4) at Tulsa Shock (2-12), 8 PM ET/7 PM CT/5 PM PT

WNBA.com | Shock Preview

The Sun lost two of its last three games (losses at Indy and vs. Seattle, and a win at DC) and now is on a three game road trip. The good news is that today the Casino Crew plays the Shock to kick off the road trip, and after a game tomorrow at Minny, they get to play against the Mystics on Tuesday for DC's kiddie game. Given that Saturday's game is a possible WNBA Finals matchup, the starters need to win this one early to take a rest for tomorrow's game in my opinion.

As for the Shock, if you're a Shock fan, this is an opportunity to perhaps take advantage of a team that may be looking forward to Saturday's game against Minny, and perhaps the black and yellow can shock the world again tonight. On Sunday it just so happens that they will play the Mystics themselves at home, but we'll talk about that on Sunday......

Game 3: New York Liberty (5-9) at Chicago Sky (8-5), 8:30 PM ET/7:30 PM CT/5:30 PM PT

WNBA.com | Liberty Preview | Sky Preview

After defeating the Storm handily last Sunday (see Queenie's recap here and Ray's recap here), the Libs travel for a one game road match vs. the Sky which finally won against the Dream following a four game losing streak. Both teams will look to gain more momentum here. Last time these two teams played, the Sky won, but also with Epiphanny Prince.

So that's it. Enjoy your Fridays everyone. More games on Saturday and Sunday.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Join Swish Appeal

You must be a member of Swish Appeal to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Swish Appeal. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9347_tracker